Amazing Non-Toxic Perfume: Pacifica

I am a perfume-lover.

I always love to have a consistent, signature scent, a perfume that people will smell and think of me. It can be a tough balance between intoxicatingly aromatic and olifactorily offensive, but if you find the right perfume, you can really garner yourself some sniffing admirers!

When I first started transitioning to a non-toxic lifestyle, I have to admit that perfume was not one of my first product-switches. Probably because I don’t wear it on a daily basis, and only in certain areas of my body, I felt that it was the least of my worries. But certainly conventional perfume is a highly toxic beauty product that I recommend you rethink.

According to a 2010 report by the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics and the Evironmental Working Group,

“The average fragrance product tested contained 14 secret chemicals not listed on the label. Among them are chemicals associated with hormone disruption and allergic reactions,
and many substances that have not been assessed for safety in personal care products.

Because of the Federal Fair Packaging and Labeling Act of 1973, anything considered a “fragrance” is a trade-secret, which exempts it from the requirement to disclose ingredients. This loophole is why beauty products (not just perfume) that contain “fragrance” as an ingredient, could actually contain dozens of harmful chemicals, but the consumer would never know, since cosmetics companies are not required to disclose that information.

Synthetic fragrances have known to cause asthma, eczema, dry skin, headaches, mucosal irritation, and hormonal disruption, among other ailments. And to top it all off-synthetic fragrances are NOT bio-degradable, pollute the air, and are toxic to our waters.

When I finally let go of my much-loved synthetic signature scent, I luckily found a new non-toxic perfume I love a helluva lot more!

Pacifica Indian Coconut Nectar Perfume

non-toxic, perfume, natural, eco-friendly, cruelty-free, beauty, healthy, pacifica, coconut, indian coconut nectar perfume

Described as “a sensuous and delicious blend inspired by travels to faraway destinations,” Pacifica Indian Coconut Nectar Perfume is a “warm, sultry blend of coconut and delicate creamy vanilla is pure ambrosia.” All Pacifica perfumes are “free of phthalates, nitro-musks, benzene, phthalates, parabens, mineral oils, GMO, propylen glycol, and artificial color” The perfumes consist of pure grain alcohol and a blend of essential and natural oils. Also, Pacifica declare that they perform no animal testing, and are 100% vegan and gluten-free (All information taken from the Pacifica Website).

In fact, after falling so in love with Pacifica Indian Coconut Nectar Perfume and wearing it all the time (even around my elementary students who are sensitive to synthetic fragrances), I realize it has a natural and delicious aroma not found in man-made perfumes. Synthetic perfumes appear to now have an unpleasant chemical smell that just doesn’t compete with the subtle notes in the Indian Coconut Nectar Perfume.

I am a coconut-fanatic. But for those of you who like florals, fruits, or earthy woods, Pacifica has a wide range of amazing perfume blends to suit your preference. If you’re not sure which scent is right for you, try buying the $12 roll-on size, or better yet–sample a smell at Sephora or Whole Foods, where Pacifica Perfumes are sold.

The perfume is surprisingly potent and long-lasting, despite its natural ingredients. By the end of an 8-hour work day, I can still smell the perfume lightly on my wrist, although it washes off quite easily and does not have a chemical after-smell the way many synthetic perfumes do.

Verdict: I would highly recommend Pacifica Indian Coconut Nectar Perfume and is my current Holy Grail perfume.

Disclosure: Items reviewed in this post were purchased with my own personal money. I am no affiliated with Pacifica Perfumes and did not receive any compensation for this review. All links provided are for information purposes only.

3 thoughts on “Amazing Non-Toxic Perfume: Pacifica

  1. I swear its like every beauty blogger today went to the same shops as me! Another sephora post on Bliss No. 9 where I was not an hour ago and now this! I just purchased a Pacifica sun kissed glow body lotion at Sephora. Smells like coconut :-) I am loving my golden glowyness . normally I am downright pale so its a nice change! glad we were on the same page ;-)

Leave a Reply

