First Aid Beauty Skin Care Products Review

First Aid Beauty explains the following about the ingredients in their products on their website:

“FAB products are free of harsh chemicals and known allergens, including parabens, phthalates, alcohol, fragrances and artificial dyes. Select products also boast FDA-approved over-the-counter formulations that target specific skin issues such as eczema and acne. The result is true first aid beauty and a collection of products that may be used safely by even the most sensitive skin types.”

All of their products are fragrance-free, and are free of odor masking agents, which is great for those of us allergic to fragrance or concerned with its toxicity. However, not all of their ingredients are plant-based. Some are man-made chemicals and others are animal by-products, although they claim they do not test any of their products on animals. Unfortunately, they are not certified by PETA or the Leaping Bunny as cruelty-free, so the verdict is out whether they are using an outside agency to test their products or are using ingredients that were tested on animals.

Having said that, I was given some samples of their products at Sephora when the consultant learned of my extremely dry and sensitive skin.

gentle exfoliator, first aid beauty, skin care, dry skin, sensitive skin, non-toxic, beauty, health

1. The First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pad was the first product she used to gently exfoliate my skin (learn more about the importance of the right exfoliant here). I really like this product. It never gives me that tight, dry feeling I get when the exfoliant is too harsh. This item was quite pricey at $28 for 60 pads, but luckily they were having a sale. A trick I use to stretch out the life of the product is cutting the pads in half and using both sides for one exfoliation. Verdict: For now, this is my favorite gentle exfoliation product.

gentle exfoliator, first aid beauty, skin care, dry skin, sensitive skin, non-toxic, beauty, health
2. Next, she used the First Aid Beauty 5 in 1 Restore Cream. At the time, it felt quite creamy and moisturizing, I had no complaints. I did not purchase this product because I’m quite satisfied with my current face cream, Nature’s Baby Organics Face & Body Moisturizer, but the Sephora consultant gave me a sample to take home. When I used it a second time at home, I felt it just wasn’t moisturizing enough for my dry skin. It hydrated, but within 10 minutes I had to reapply a thicker cream to keep my skin from going parched. Verdict: If you have normal to oily skin, this cream may be great for you. For dry skinned-ladies, it’s not hydrating enough. I will not purchase.

gentle exfoliator, first aid beauty, skin care, dry skin, sensitive skin, non-toxic, beauty, health, eye cream
3. A sample I used at home was the First Aid Beauty 5 in 1 Eye Cream. I put it around my eye, it stung my skin. I do not know what ingredient caused this feeling, perhaps the Retinyl Palmitate? Verdict: I will never use this product again.

gentle exfoliator, first aid beauty, skin care, dry skin, sensitive skin, non-toxic, beauty, health
4. Last, but not least, I tried the First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser. Love!! I am waiting to run out of my current cleanser so I can purchase this. It’s quite expensive at $18/5oz., but it was super gentle, made my skin feel clean and hydrated, and definitely did not strip my skin of moisture.

Overall, I was quite impressed with the performance First Aid Beauty products. Although their products are not entirely natural and plant-based, the products that I liked, including the Face Cleanser and Facial Radiance Pads, were given a LOW toxicity score of 1 on the Environmental Working Group’s cosmetics database.

I also have a First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream that I have not reviewed but will update this post once I do. Have any of you tried FAB products? What do you think about their animal-cruelty/vegan policy? Are they “natural” enough for you? Leave some comments in the post below!

More Skin Care Articles

More Product Reviews

Disclosure: Products in this review were purchased with my personal money. All links provided are for information purposes only. I am not affiliated with First Aid Beauty, and I received no compensation for this review. All photos were taken from the First Aid Beauty website.

3 thoughts on “First Aid Beauty Skin Care Products Review

  1. awesome review! If you have sensitive skin, i would check out Rainwater Botanicals. They have naturally made organic products and I never have bad reactions to their stuff. I have acne prone, sensitive combo skin so I def. understand when things tend to irritate my skin. If you are hesitant to purchase from them without knowing more, stay tuned on my blog, I plan on reviewing a bunch of their products soon! ❤

Leave a Reply

