Badger Cocoa Butter Lip Balm Review

lip balm, non-toxic, beauty, health, dry skin, lips, mocha cocoa

Best. Lip Balm. Ever.

Let me start off by saying I am an absolute lip-balm addict. I think it started in high school when I went on the drug Accutane, which completely dries out your skin and lips to the point of bleeding. The regular ole Chapstick just didn’t cut it, so I became obsessed with highly moisturizing lip balms. I used it so often that I would keep it on top of my school desk at all times, it was too far away sitting in my pocket.

Although my skin is no longer in the chemically-altered state it was during the Accutane treatment, my obsession with lip balm has nonetheless been solidified. I make sure I have a lip balm in every corner of my life, never a moment without it. But as a result of my extremely dry acne-drug days, I have quite high expectations for the performance of a lip balm, especially in the dead of a dry, cold winter. Badger’s Cocoa Butter Lip Balm($4.99 from the Badger website) is to date is my absolute favorite cruelty-free all-natural lip balm.

The first Badger Balm was created by Bill Whyte in 1994 as a way to heal his cracked hands from the cold New England winters? Based out of Gilsum, New Hampshire (yay New England!), the W.S. Badger Company, Inc. strives “To create fabulously pure and effective products of the highest natural quality, based on simplicity and thoughtful preparation, with the intention to protect, soothe and heal.” Their website provides extensive information on all ingredients used in their products. If you’re looking for a truly pure company with recognizable ingredients, Badger is for you.

Formulated with the extremely hydrating cocoa butter (Badger only uses fair trade), olive oil, castor oil, beeswax, and aloe extract, the Badger Cocoa Butter Lip Balms will not leave you wanting to reapply lip balm 10 minutes later, even in the cold of winter (trust me, I live in Boston).

All the ingredients in this product are certified organic, and they are cruelty-free, as certified by the Leaping Bunny (Note: Since this product and many other Badger products contain bee-derived ingredients, they are not “Vegan”).

Overall, I would highly recommend Badger’s Cocoa Butter Lip Balm. I have tried the Mocha Cocoa and Vanilla flavors (scents?) and loved them both. If you would like to hear of more Badger products I’ve tried, stay tuned for future posts!

More Skin Care Articles

More Lip Balm Reviews

DIY Recipes

Disclosure: The product reviewed in this post was purchased with my own personal money. I am not affiliated with the Badger Company in any way, and will not receive compensation for this review. Link provided are for your convenience only.

Leave a Reply

