DevaCurl No Poo & One Condition Product Reviews

No matter what other hair cleanser I try, I always come back to DevaCurl’s No-Poo cleanser and One Condition. Ever since I gave up sulfate and other surfactants in my hair cleansers, my dry, frizzy hair has been completely revived. I owe much of my transformation to DevCurl products, including AnGEL, and Set It Free.

curly girl method, hair, devacurl, sulfate-free, shampoo, natural, botanical, healthy

My hair on the left is when it was straightened and air dried before I started using DevaCurl products. The pictures on the right are of my hair 2 years sulfate and silicone-free.

Many shampoos that are “sulfate-free” contain milder surfactants (cocomidropyl betaine, cocobetaine, disodium laureth sulfosucconate, and decyl glucoside) that albeit gentler on your hair, they still eliminate natural oils from your hair. If you have fine, oily hair, you may not mind this. In fact, you may even need a good surfactant to remove the excess oil for more body in your hair. But if you have extremely dry and curly hair like me, even “mild” surfactants in large amounts can still be too rough. My hair needs all the oil it can get (see my post on Oil Treatments for your Hair).

Shampoo, sulfate-free, mild, curly hair, dry hair, dandruff, curly girl method

DevaCurl No-Poo contains cocomidropyl betaine as its tenth ingredient, making it gentler than other shampoos that might list it as the first. It also contains some really great-for-your-hair ingredients like glycerin, wheat peptide, and grapeseed oil.

Upon cleansing, my hair feels clean, but not dry. In fact, it feels like I’ve already cleansed and moisturized my hair by the time I’m done cleansing with the No-Poo.

Before I started using DevaCurl No-Poo, I suffered from dandruff. I was using an anti-dandruff shampoo, which would eliminate dandruff for a day but dry my scalp out, causing it to overproduce oil and by the second day I would have dandruff two times worse. Since using No-Poo, my dandruff problem has virtually gone away. My scalp is more balanced, and as long as I massage my scalp thoroughly in the shower (with the tips of my fingers, not my nails), I never get itchy or flaky scalp.

Like the DevaCurl No-Poo, DevaCurl One Condition does not disappoint. A little bit of this stuff goes a long way. If you have even dryer or coarser hair than me, some women use this as a cleanser, but I find it too heavy for that. One Condition is also silicone-free, which is great if you’re using a surfactant-free cleanser, because silicones can build up in your hair, suffocating the hair shaft, leaving it dull and lifeless.

one condition, conditioner, curly hair, dry, beauty, health, botanical, cruelty-free, vegan

Recently, a fellow curly brought to my attention that DevaCurl products, including this product, contain diazolidinyl urea, which is a preservative that releases formaldehyde. The Cosmetics Database rates diazolidiny urea as having a toxicity level of 5. DevaCurl products also contain fragrance, which as I’ve discussed in my post on My Favorite Perfume, could cause a myriad of health problems in people or at the least contribute to pollution of our waterways.

Having said that, DevaCurl No-Poo and One Condition are natural enough for me for the time being. I am on the hunt for something that works just as well but with a few less junky ingredients, and I will share my reviews with you along the way.

Although not certified by the Leaping Bunny or PETA, DevaCurl claims that their products were not tested on animals, and contain no animal derived ingredients. No-Poo and One Condition also do not contain any bee-derived products, and thus could be considered vegan.

So if you have curly or wavy hair and are looking for a better way to cleanse and hydrate those beautiful locks, give DevaCurl No-Poo and One Condition a try!

Disclosure: Products reviewed in this post were purchased with my personal money. I am not affiliated with this company, nor did I receive compensation for this review. All links are for informational purposes only.

Leave a Reply

